Pairing
Cato Networks vs Cisco: which SASE platform fits your enterprise?
Short answer
On our published weights Cato Networks scores 8.70 against 5.30 for Cisco. Cato Networks scores higher on converged architecture, global network, as the vendor states it, component coverage, unified management and policy, vulnerability response transparency, published compliance certifications and AI security inside the platform. They tie on deployment options. Network figures are stated on different bases, so compare them in each vendor's own words.
By The Transit Desk · Best SASE Platforms · Published
Desk research from each vendor's own public pages.
How do the scores compare?
| Criterion | Cato Networks | Cisco | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|
| Converged architecture 20% Cato: Cato states one cloud with a single-pass engine, single data lake and single policy enforcement across networking and security. Cisco: Pairs Secure Access SSE with one of two separate SD-WAN product lines; single-pass is not stated. | 9 | 5 | Cato Networks |
| Global network, as the vendor states it 15% Cato: States a private global backbone of 100+ PoPs with path selection and a 99.999% uptime SLA; SLA terms are not on the page. Cisco: No backbone, PoP or uptime figures are stated on the pages read. | 9 | 3 | Cato Networks |
| Component coverage 10% Cato: Lists all eight components we track, each with its own platform page. Cisco: Lists four of the eight: SD-WAN, SWG, ZTNA and DEM. | 10 | 5 | Cato Networks |
| Unified management and policy 10% Cato: States one policy engine and one console, a multi-tenant console for partners, and Cato Copilot inside the console. Cisco: States a single console, unified client and centralized policy for Secure Access; SD-WAN management is not described with it. | 9 | 7 | Cato Networks |
| Vulnerability response transparency 10% Cato: Publishes a per-CVE Detect to Protect log and a four-step virtual patching process that needs no customer action. Cisco: No vulnerability response record is published on the pages read. | 9 | 3 | Cato Networks |
| Published compliance certifications 10% Cato: Lists SOC 2 and 3, PCI-DSS Level 1, five ISO standards, ENS High and Cyber Essentials; FedRAMP is not listed and CSA STAR is a self-assessment. Cisco: States FedRAMP authorization for Secure Access; other certifications are not stated on the page. | 7 | 6 | Cato Networks |
| AI security inside the platform 15% Cato: Describes discovery, prompt controls, MCP and coding-agent controls and runtime protection for users, apps and agents, with inline Block actions. Cisco: AI Access shadow AI controls, agent tokens and inline runtime monitoring, and AI Defense guardrails; MCP is not named. | 9 | 7 | Cato Networks |
| Deployment options 10% Cato: Incremental adoption, four ZTNA access methods including clientless and browser, and SSE on its own; no self-hosted or sovereign option described. Cisco: Client or clientless ZTNA, VPN as a Service, a DNS Defense entry tier and a choice of two SD-WAN lines. | 7 | 7 | Tie |
| Total | 8.70 | 5.30 | Cato Networks |
Cato Networks
Cisco
Which components does each list?
Filled arcs: listed on the vendor's pages. Dashed arcs: not listed on the pages we read. A filled arc does not measure how well the component works.
| Component | Cato Networks | Cisco |
|---|---|---|
| SD-WAN | Listed | Listed |
| SWG | Listed | Listed |
| CASB | Listed | Not listed |
| ZTNA | Listed | Listed |
| FWaaS | Listed | Not listed |
| DLP | Listed | Not listed |
| RBI | Listed | Not listed |
| DEM | Listed | Listed |
How are they built and run?
Cato Networks
Architecture
Cato states the platform is a "purpose-built and self-optimizing global cloud with a single-pass engine, single data lake, and single policy enforcement". Its inspection engine is named the Cato Single Pass Cloud Engine (SPACE).Source: Cato Networks homepage
Network
Cato states its private backbone, branded Cato Neural Edge, is a "cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide" with "embedded GPU-powered compute". Sites, users and clouds connect over encrypted tunnels to nearby Cato PoPs, and traffic is carried on the backbone with path selection.Source: Cato global private backbone
Management and policy
Cato states "one policy engine, one console, single-pass inspection, on an SLA-backed global backbone". Managed service partners get "one multi-tenant console".Source: Cato SASE platform
Cisco
Architecture
Cisco's SASE page pairs Secure Access with Cisco SD-WAN or Cisco Meraki SD-WAN, listed as separate products. Single-pass wording is not used on the pages we read.Source: Cisco SASE solution
Network
Not publishedManagement and policy
Cisco states Secure Access offers "a single console, unified client, and centralized policy management".Source: Cisco Secure Access
How do they handle vulnerabilities and compliance?
Cato Networks
Vulnerability response
Cato states it performs virtual patching through the IPS layer of SPACE, with new IPS rules deployed "without requiring any customer involvement", in four steps: assessment, development, opt-in protection in simulate mode, then global protection. It publishes a Detect to Protect log of critical CVEs; most 2026 entries read 1 or 2 days.Source: Cato Rapid CVE Mitigation
Certifications listed
Cato's compliance page lists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on that page.FedRAMP listed: Not listed
Cisco
Vulnerability response
Not publishedCertifications listed
Cisco states "Cisco Secure Access achieves FedRAMP authorization", covering Secure Internet Access, VPN as a Service and ZTNA. Other certifications are not stated on the page.Source: Cisco Secure Access
FedRAMP listed: Yes
What do they offer for AI security?
Cato Networks
AI security
Cato states its AI security covers users, applications and agents with "One AI-native engine and one console": shadow AI and coding-agent discovery, prompt controls with Monitor, Anonymize and Block actions, mapping of "agents, MCP servers and skills", and runtime blocking of prompt injection and jailbreaks. It states the engine checks "every interaction inline".Source: Cato AI security
MCP controls named: Yes
Cisco
AI security
AI Access in Secure Access "inspects web traffic to identify uses of shadow AI" and can block or redirect requests to approved services. Secure Access describes agent discovery, "short-lived, least-privilege access tokens" and "inline runtime monitoring"; Cisco AI Defense adds red teaming and runtime guardrails. MCP is not named on the pages we read.Source: Cisco Secure Access AI Access
MCP controls named: Not named on the pages we read
How can each be deployed?
Cato Networks
Deployment options
Cato states organizations "can adopt the Cato SASE Platform incrementally" and describes "elastic, modular capabilities". Its homepage describes ZTNA through a "ZTNA Client, Enterprise Browser, Browser Extension, and Clientless Portal" and SSE that can run apart from existing networking.Source: Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms
Assistant in the console
Cato Copilot answers natural-language questions inside the Cato Management Application, as Cato describes it.Source: Cato AI-powered security
Cisco
Deployment options
Cisco describes ZTNA "client or clientless", VPN as a Service for apps outside ZTNA, a DNS Defense entry tier, and a choice of two SD-WAN lines.Source: Cisco Secure Access
Assistant in the console
Not publishedWhat does each state about itself?
Cato Networks
Analyst placement, as the vendor states it
Cato states it was named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms "for the third consecutive year", citing the report dated 28 July 2026.Source: Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms
Cisco
A third-party test cited by Cisco; we did not read the SE Labs report.
Analyst placement, as the vendor states it
Cisco's SASE page states "Cisco named a SASE Leader"; the analyst firm and report are not named in the page text.Source: Cisco SASE solution
Which should you choose?
Choose Cato Networks if
you value a full set of SASE components from one vendor and one engine and one policy for networking and security.
Best for: Enterprises that want networking, security and AI controls run as one cloud service with one console, and do not need FedRAMP.
Choose Cisco if
you value AI security controls inside the platform and one console and one policy.
Best for: Cisco and Meraki networking estates that want an SSE layer with FedRAMP authorization.
Frequently asked questions
Which scores higher overall, Cato Networks or Cisco?
Cato Networks scores 8.70 against 5.30 on our default weights. The weighting lab lets you change the weights.
Do Cato Networks and Cisco list FedRAMP?
Cato Networks: not listed on the pages we read. Cisco: Yes, per Cisco Secure Access.
Do Cato Networks and Cisco describe MCP or AI agent controls?
Cato Networks names MCP controls on its AI pages. Cisco does not name MCP on the pages we read.