Skip to content
Best SASE Platforms logoBest SASE Platforms

Platform profile

FortiSASE review: SASE on one operating system

Short answer

Fortinet states FortiSASE uses one operating system, client and data lake, and Unified SASE joins it with Secure SD-WAN under one policy engine and management plane. It describes the most deployment variants in this set, including a sovereign option. It scores 7.10 and ranks 3 of 6; DLP and remote browser isolation are not in the component list we read.

By The Transit Desk · Best SASE Platforms · Published

Desk research from each vendor's own public pages.

Score on our weights

Fortinet total 7.10 / 10

Rank 3 of 6 on our published weights

Change the weights in the weighting lab

What does Fortinet offer as a SASE platform?

Fortinet states FortiSASE "uses one operating system, client, and data lake, enabling true integration of zero trust, SD-WAN, and SSE".

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Fortinet snapshot, from the vendor's own pages
What is offeredFortiSASE and Fortinet Unified SASE (FortiSASE with Secure SD-WAN on FortiOS)
Architecture, as the vendor describes itFortinet states Unified SASE "merges FortiSASE with Fortinet Secure SD-WAN to create a single, integrated platform", "Built on a single OS, policy engine, and management plane". Single-pass wording is not used on these pages.

Source: Fortinet Unified SASE

Network, as the vendor states itFortinet states "a global network of 200+ PoPs. With Fortinet-owned infrastructure and native security at each location, traffic is inspected locally", with AWS, Google Cloud and Oracle Cloud integration extending coverage. A private backbone between PoPs is not described on the page.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Management and policyFortinet states "Unified management, end-to-end DEM, and consistent security policy enforcement" on premises and in the cloud.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Vulnerability responseFortinet's trust page states PSIRT disclosure aligned with ISO/IEC 30111:2019 and ISO/IEC 29147. A time-to-protect record for FortiSASE is not published on the pages we read.

Source: Fortinet trust

Certifications listedFortinet's trust page states security aligned with the ISO/IEC 27000 series and NIST 800-53. Specific FortiSASE certifications such as SOC 2 or FedRAMP are not stated in the trust page text we read.

Source: Fortinet trust

AI securityFortinet states FortiAI discovers AI applications in use and "blocks unauthorized prompts". FortiAIGate checks "prompts, outputs, and agent tool calls" and catches prompt injection, jailbreaks and data leaks in MCP tool traffic; it is described as self-hosted, with data and logs on the customer's infrastructure.

Source: Fortinet FortiAIGate

Deployment optionsFortinet describes agent-based and agentless options, microbranches and thin edges, native SD-WAN integrations and a "FortiSASE Sovereign" option deployed "by end users in their own data centers".

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Assistant in the consoleFortiAI-Assist, an embedded assistant that uses natural language and voice-to-text, as Fortinet describes it.

Source: Fortinet FortiAI-Assist

Analyst placement, as the vendor states itFortinet's page describes it as a Challenger in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Published pricingNot published

No SASE price list on the pages we read. Pricing is not scored.

Which SASE components does Fortinet list?

Fortinet SASE ring: lists 6 of 8 components.6/8listed
  • 1. SD-WAN: Listed
  • 2. SWG: Listed
  • 3. CASB: Listed
  • 4. ZTNA: Listed
  • 5. FWaaS: Listed
  • 6. DLP: Not listed
  • 7. RBI: Not listed
  • 8. DEM: Listed
Solid arc swatchListed on the vendor's pagesDashed arc swatchNot listed on the pages we read
A filled arc means the vendor's own pages list that component. It does not measure how well the component works.
  • SD-WAN (Software-defined WAN): Listed. Secure SD-WAN.

    Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

  • SWG (Secure web gateway): Listed. SWG.

    Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

  • CASB (Cloud access security broker): Listed. CASB.

    Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

  • ZTNA (Zero trust network access): Listed. ZTNA.

    Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

  • FWaaS (Firewall as a service): Listed. FWaaS.

    Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

  • DLP (Data loss prevention): Not listed
  • RBI (Remote browser isolation): Not listed Fortinet lists a secure browser; remote browser isolation is not named on the page.

    Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

  • DEM (Digital experience monitoring): Listed. End-to-end DEM.

    Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

What figures does Fortinet publish about itself?

Fortinet counts PoPs on Fortinet-owned infrastructure and extends coverage through public clouds. This figure is on a different basis from other vendors' figures, so we do not rank it against them.

How does Fortinet score on each criterion?

Scores by criterion, with badges computed against all six platforms
CriterionWeightScoreWhy
Converged architecture20%
8 / 10
States one operating system, client and data lake, and a single OS, policy engine and management plane across SASE and SD-WAN; single-pass is not stated.

Source: Fortinet Unified SASE

Global network, as the vendor states it15%
7 / 10
States 200+ PoPs on Fortinet-owned infrastructure plus public cloud extension; a private backbone between PoPs is not described.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Component coverage10%
7 / 10
Lists six of the eight: DLP and remote browser isolation are not named.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Unified management and policy10%
9 / 10
Tied highest
States unified management and consistent policy on premises and in the cloud, plus the FortiAI-Assist assistant.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Vulnerability response transparency10%
5 / 10
Publishes a PSIRT disclosure process aligned with ISO standards, but no time-to-protect record for FortiSASE.

Source: Fortinet trust

Published compliance certifications10%
4 / 10
States alignment with the ISO 27000 series and NIST 800-53; specific certifications for FortiSASE are not stated.

Source: Fortinet trust

AI security inside the platform15%
7 / 10
Tied lowest
FortiAI discovery and prompt blocking, and FortiAIGate inspection of MCP tool traffic, which is described as self-hosted.

Source: Fortinet FortiAIGate

Deployment options10%
9 / 10
Highest in set
Agent-based and agentless options, thin edges, native SD-WAN integrations and a sovereign option run in the customer's data centers.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Where does Fortinet score well, and where does it score lower?

Scores well

Highest or tied highest in set on: unified management and policy and deployment options.

  • Describes agent-based and agentless access, thin edges and a sovereign option run in the customer's own data centers.
  • One operating system, policy engine and management plane across FortiSASE and Secure SD-WAN.
  • Publishes a PSIRT disclosure process aligned with ISO/IEC 30111 and 29147.

Scores lower

Another platform scores higher on: converged architecture, global network, as the vendor states it, component coverage, vulnerability response transparency, published compliance certifications and AI security inside the platform.

  • DLP and remote browser isolation are not in the FortiSASE component list on the page we read.
  • Specific certifications for FortiSASE (SOC 2, FedRAMP) are not stated in the trust page text we read.
  • FortiAIGate is described as self-hosted rather than as part of the FortiSASE cloud service.

How does Fortinet compare head to head?

Bottom line

Fortinet's score rests on one operating system and policy engine across SASE and SD-WAN and the deployment choices it describes. Component coverage and the certifications stated on its pages hold its total down. It ranks 3 of 6 on our weights, at 7.10.

Best for: Fortinet firewall and SD-WAN estates that want SASE on the same operating system, including sovereign deployments.

Further reading: SASE roundup: dated announcements on the six vendors' pages, Coding agents and SASE: what vendors say about Claude Code, Cursor and Codex

Frequently asked questions

Does Fortinet list FedRAMP?

FedRAMP is not listed on the pages we read. Fortinet's trust page states security aligned with the ISO/IEC 27000 series and NIST 800-53. Specific FortiSASE certifications such as SOC 2 or FedRAMP are not stated in the trust page text we read.

Does Fortinet describe controls for AI agents and MCP?

Yes. Fortinet states FortiAI discovers AI applications in use and "blocks unauthorized prompts". FortiAIGate checks "prompts, outputs, and agent tool calls" and catches prompt injection, jailbreaks and data leaks in MCP tool traffic; it is described as self-hosted, with data and logs on the customer's infrastructure.

How many SASE components does Fortinet list?

6 of the eight we track: SD-WAN, SWG, CASB, ZTNA, FWaaS and DEM. Not listed on the pages we read: DLP and RBI.

Continue reading