Skip to content
Best SASE Platforms logoBest SASE Platforms

Platform profile

Prisma SASE review: Palo Alto Networks' SASE product family

Short answer

Palo Alto Networks lists every SASE component we track across Prisma Access, Prisma SD-WAN, Enterprise DLP, RBI and ADEM, a trust center with FedRAMP and StateRAMP, and a broad AI security portfolio. It scores 7.05 and ranks 4 of 6; its pages present SASE as a family of products and do not state single-pass inspection.

By The Transit Desk · Best SASE Platforms · Published

Desk research from each vendor's own public pages.

Score on our weights

Palo Alto Networks total 7.05 / 10

Rank 4 of 6 on our published weights

Change the weights in the weighting lab

What does Palo Alto Networks offer as a SASE platform?

Palo Alto Networks describes Prisma SASE as "AI-powered" with a "unique, multicloud architecture".

Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE

Palo Alto Networks snapshot, from the vendor's own pages
What is offeredPrisma SASE: Prisma Access, Prisma SD-WAN, Prisma Browser and related products
Architecture, as the vendor describes itThe SASE page names a product family: Prisma Access, Prisma Browser, Prisma SD-WAN, Remote Browser Isolation, Enterprise DLP, SaaS Security, ADEM and AI Access Security. Single-pass wording is not used on the SASE or Prisma Access pages.

Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE

Network, as the vendor states itPalo Alto Networks states a 99.999% uptime SLA for Prisma Access on what it calls a hyperscale backbone. A PoP or location count is not given in the page text.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Management and policyPalo Alto Networks describes "simple and unified management and operations" for Prisma Access, with Strata Cloud Manager.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Vulnerability responseNot published
Certifications listedThe trust center certifications page lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS, IRAP, FedRAMP and StateRAMP, among others. Which products each covers is not stated in the text we read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center certifications

AI securityAI Access Security discovers GenAI applications, agents and marketplace plugins, classifies apps as sanctioned, tolerated or unsanctioned, and states inline data detection that blocks sensitive text and files. Prisma AIRS adds AI Gateway, AI Runtime Security, AI Red Teaming, AI Posture Management and Agent Identity Security. MCP is not named on the pages we read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks AI Access Security

Deployment optionsPalo Alto Networks lists Prisma Browser and Prisma SD-WAN, and Prisma Access lets customers exceed their purchased mobile user license for temporary emergencies. Self-hosted or sovereign options are not described on the pages we read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Assistant in the consoleStrata Copilot in Strata Cloud Manager, as Palo Alto Networks describes it.

Source: Palo Alto Networks AI Access Security

Analyst placement, as the vendor states itPalo Alto Networks' SASE page states "A 4X Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for SASE Platforms". Report dates are not given in the page text.

Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE

Published pricingNot published

No SASE price list on the pages we read. Pricing is not scored.

Which SASE components does Palo Alto Networks list?

Palo Alto Networks SASE ring: lists 8 of 8 components.8/8listed
  • 1. SD-WAN: Listed
  • 2. SWG: Listed
  • 3. CASB: Listed
  • 4. ZTNA: Listed
  • 5. FWaaS: Listed
  • 6. DLP: Listed
  • 7. RBI: Listed
  • 8. DEM: Listed
Solid arc swatchListed on the vendor's pagesDashed arc swatchNot listed on the pages we read
A filled arc means the vendor's own pages list that component. It does not measure how well the component works.

What figures does Palo Alto Networks publish about itself?

These are Palo Alto Networks' own figures. The basis of the threat figure is not given on the page.

How does Palo Alto Networks score on each criterion?

Scores by criterion, with badges computed against all six platforms
CriterionWeightScoreWhy
Converged architecture20%
6 / 10
Presents SASE as a family of named products with unified management; single-pass is not stated on the SASE or Prisma Access pages.

Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE

Global network, as the vendor states it15%
7 / 10
States a 99.999% uptime SLA on a hyperscale backbone; no PoP or location count in the page text.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Component coverage10%
10 / 10
Tied highest
Lists all eight components across Prisma Access, Prisma SD-WAN, Enterprise DLP, RBI and ADEM.

Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE

Unified management and policy10%
8 / 10
Describes unified management and operations in Strata Cloud Manager, with Strata Copilot.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Vulnerability response transparency10%
3 / 10
Tied lowest
No vulnerability response record is published on the SASE pages read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Published compliance certifications10%
9 / 10
The trust center lists FedRAMP, StateRAMP, IRAP, C5, PCI DSS and SOC 2+; product coverage is not stated.

Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center certifications

AI security inside the platform15%
8 / 10
AI Access Security with inline blocking, plus Prisma AIRS runtime, gateway, red teaming and agent identity modules; MCP is not named.

Source: Palo Alto Networks AI Access Security

Deployment options10%
6 / 10
Tied lowest
Lists Prisma Browser and Prisma SD-WAN and flexible mobile user licensing; self-hosted or sovereign options are not described.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Where does Palo Alto Networks score well, and where does it score lower?

Scores well

Highest or tied highest in set on: component coverage.

  • Lists all eight SASE components we track across Prisma Access, Prisma SD-WAN, Enterprise DLP, Remote Browser Isolation and ADEM.
  • Its trust center lists FedRAMP, StateRAMP, IRAP, C5, PCI DSS and SOC 2+.
  • A broad AI security portfolio across AI Access Security and Prisma AIRS, including runtime protection and red teaming.

Scores lower

Another platform scores higher on: converged architecture, global network, as the vendor states it, unified management and policy, vulnerability response transparency, published compliance certifications, AI security inside the platform and deployment options.

  • Single-pass wording is not used on its SASE or Prisma Access pages, and SASE is presented as a family of named products.
  • No PoP or location count and no CVE response record on the pages we read.
  • MCP-specific controls are not named on the AI pages we read.

How does Palo Alto Networks compare head to head?

Bottom line

Palo Alto Networks lists every component we track, a long certification list and a broad AI portfolio. Its converged architecture score is lower because its pages present SASE as a family of products and do not state single-pass inspection. It ranks 4 of 6 on our weights, at 7.05.

Best for: Palo Alto Networks customers and regulated teams that need FedRAMP and a broad AI security portfolio.

Further reading: Uptime, threats and signals: how to read SASE vendor numbers, Coding agents and SASE: what vendors say about Claude Code, Cursor and Codex

Frequently asked questions

Does Palo Alto Networks list FedRAMP?

Yes. The trust center certifications page lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS, IRAP, FedRAMP and StateRAMP, among others. Which products each covers is not stated in the text we read.

Does Palo Alto Networks describe controls for AI agents and MCP?

MCP is not named on the pages we read. AI Access Security discovers GenAI applications, agents and marketplace plugins, classifies apps as sanctioned, tolerated or unsanctioned, and states inline data detection that blocks sensitive text and files. Prisma AIRS adds AI Gateway, AI Runtime Security, AI Red Teaming, AI Posture Management and Agent Identity Security. MCP is not named on the pages we read.

How many SASE components does Palo Alto Networks list?

8 of the eight we track: SD-WAN, SWG, CASB, ZTNA, FWaaS, DLP, RBI and DEM.

Continue reading