Pairing
Cato Networks vs Palo Alto Networks: which SASE platform fits your enterprise?
Short answer
On our published weights Cato Networks scores 8.70 against 7.05 for Palo Alto Networks. Cato Networks scores higher on converged architecture, global network, as the vendor states it, unified management and policy, vulnerability response transparency, AI security inside the platform and deployment options; Palo Alto Networks scores higher on published compliance certifications. They tie on component coverage. Network figures are stated on different bases, so compare them in each vendor's own words.
By The Transit Desk · Best SASE Platforms · Published
Desk research from each vendor's own public pages.
How do the scores compare?
| Criterion | Cato Networks | Palo Alto Networks | Higher |
|---|---|---|---|
| Converged architecture 20% Cato: Cato states one cloud with a single-pass engine, single data lake and single policy enforcement across networking and security. Palo Alto Networks: Presents SASE as a family of named products with unified management; single-pass is not stated on the SASE or Prisma Access pages. | 9 | 6 | Cato Networks |
| Global network, as the vendor states it 15% Cato: States a private global backbone of 100+ PoPs with path selection and a 99.999% uptime SLA; SLA terms are not on the page. Palo Alto Networks: States a 99.999% uptime SLA on a hyperscale backbone; no PoP or location count in the page text. | 9 | 7 | Cato Networks |
| Component coverage 10% Cato: Lists all eight components we track, each with its own platform page. Palo Alto Networks: Lists all eight components across Prisma Access, Prisma SD-WAN, Enterprise DLP, RBI and ADEM. | 10 | 10 | Tie |
| Unified management and policy 10% Cato: States one policy engine and one console, a multi-tenant console for partners, and Cato Copilot inside the console. Palo Alto Networks: Describes unified management and operations in Strata Cloud Manager, with Strata Copilot. | 9 | 8 | Cato Networks |
| Vulnerability response transparency 10% Cato: Publishes a per-CVE Detect to Protect log and a four-step virtual patching process that needs no customer action. Palo Alto Networks: No vulnerability response record is published on the SASE pages read. | 9 | 3 | Cato Networks |
| Published compliance certifications 10% Cato: Lists SOC 2 and 3, PCI-DSS Level 1, five ISO standards, ENS High and Cyber Essentials; FedRAMP is not listed and CSA STAR is a self-assessment. Palo Alto Networks: The trust center lists FedRAMP, StateRAMP, IRAP, C5, PCI DSS and SOC 2+; product coverage is not stated. | 7 | 9 | Palo Alto Networks |
| AI security inside the platform 15% Cato: Describes discovery, prompt controls, MCP and coding-agent controls and runtime protection for users, apps and agents, with inline Block actions. Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security with inline blocking, plus Prisma AIRS runtime, gateway, red teaming and agent identity modules; MCP is not named. | 9 | 8 | Cato Networks |
| Deployment options 10% Cato: Incremental adoption, four ZTNA access methods including clientless and browser, and SSE on its own; no self-hosted or sovereign option described. Palo Alto Networks: Lists Prisma Browser and Prisma SD-WAN and flexible mobile user licensing; self-hosted or sovereign options are not described. | 7 | 6 | Cato Networks |
| Total | 8.70 | 7.05 | Cato Networks |
Cato Networks
Palo Alto Networks
Which components does each list?
Filled arcs: listed on the vendor's pages. Dashed arcs: not listed on the pages we read. A filled arc does not measure how well the component works.
| Component | Cato Networks | Palo Alto Networks |
|---|---|---|
| SD-WAN | Listed | Listed |
| SWG | Listed | Listed |
| CASB | Listed | Listed |
| ZTNA | Listed | Listed |
| FWaaS | Listed | Listed |
| DLP | Listed | Listed |
| RBI | Listed | Listed |
| DEM | Listed | Listed |
How are they built and run?
Cato Networks
Architecture
Cato states the platform is a "purpose-built and self-optimizing global cloud with a single-pass engine, single data lake, and single policy enforcement". Its inspection engine is named the Cato Single Pass Cloud Engine (SPACE).Source: Cato Networks homepage
Network
Cato states its private backbone, branded Cato Neural Edge, is a "cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide" with "embedded GPU-powered compute". Sites, users and clouds connect over encrypted tunnels to nearby Cato PoPs, and traffic is carried on the backbone with path selection.Source: Cato global private backbone
Management and policy
Cato states "one policy engine, one console, single-pass inspection, on an SLA-backed global backbone". Managed service partners get "one multi-tenant console".Source: Cato SASE platform
Palo Alto Networks
Architecture
The SASE page names a product family: Prisma Access, Prisma Browser, Prisma SD-WAN, Remote Browser Isolation, Enterprise DLP, SaaS Security, ADEM and AI Access Security. Single-pass wording is not used on the SASE or Prisma Access pages.Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE
Network
Palo Alto Networks states a 99.999% uptime SLA for Prisma Access on what it calls a hyperscale backbone. A PoP or location count is not given in the page text.Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access
Management and policy
Palo Alto Networks describes "simple and unified management and operations" for Prisma Access, with Strata Cloud Manager.Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access
How do they handle vulnerabilities and compliance?
Cato Networks
Vulnerability response
Cato states it performs virtual patching through the IPS layer of SPACE, with new IPS rules deployed "without requiring any customer involvement", in four steps: assessment, development, opt-in protection in simulate mode, then global protection. It publishes a Detect to Protect log of critical CVEs; most 2026 entries read 1 or 2 days.Source: Cato Rapid CVE Mitigation
Certifications listed
Cato's compliance page lists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on that page.FedRAMP listed: Not listed
Palo Alto Networks
Vulnerability response
Not publishedCertifications listed
The trust center certifications page lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS, IRAP, FedRAMP and StateRAMP, among others. Which products each covers is not stated in the text we read.FedRAMP listed: Yes
What do they offer for AI security?
Cato Networks
AI security
Cato states its AI security covers users, applications and agents with "One AI-native engine and one console": shadow AI and coding-agent discovery, prompt controls with Monitor, Anonymize and Block actions, mapping of "agents, MCP servers and skills", and runtime blocking of prompt injection and jailbreaks. It states the engine checks "every interaction inline".Source: Cato AI security
MCP controls named: Yes
Palo Alto Networks
AI security
AI Access Security discovers GenAI applications, agents and marketplace plugins, classifies apps as sanctioned, tolerated or unsanctioned, and states inline data detection that blocks sensitive text and files. Prisma AIRS adds AI Gateway, AI Runtime Security, AI Red Teaming, AI Posture Management and Agent Identity Security. MCP is not named on the pages we read.MCP controls named: Not named on the pages we read
How can each be deployed?
Cato Networks
Deployment options
Cato states organizations "can adopt the Cato SASE Platform incrementally" and describes "elastic, modular capabilities". Its homepage describes ZTNA through a "ZTNA Client, Enterprise Browser, Browser Extension, and Clientless Portal" and SSE that can run apart from existing networking.Source: Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms
Assistant in the console
Cato Copilot answers natural-language questions inside the Cato Management Application, as Cato describes it.Source: Cato AI-powered security
Palo Alto Networks
Deployment options
Palo Alto Networks lists Prisma Browser and Prisma SD-WAN, and Prisma Access lets customers exceed their purchased mobile user license for temporary emergencies. Self-hosted or sovereign options are not described on the pages we read.Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access
Assistant in the console
Strata Copilot in Strata Cloud Manager, as Palo Alto Networks describes it.What does each state about itself?
Cato Networks
Analyst placement, as the vendor states it
Cato states it was named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms "for the third consecutive year", citing the report dated 28 July 2026.Source: Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms
Palo Alto Networks
These are Palo Alto Networks' own figures. The basis of the threat figure is not given on the page.
Analyst placement, as the vendor states it
Palo Alto Networks' SASE page states "A 4X Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for SASE Platforms". Report dates are not given in the page text.Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE
Which should you choose?
Choose Cato Networks if
you value a full set of SASE components from one vendor and one engine and one policy for networking and security.
Best for: Enterprises that want networking, security and AI controls run as one cloud service with one console, and do not need FedRAMP.
Choose Palo Alto Networks if
you value a full set of SASE components from one vendor and a long list of published certifications.
Best for: Palo Alto Networks customers and regulated teams that need FedRAMP and a broad AI security portfolio.
Frequently asked questions
Which scores higher overall, Cato Networks or Palo Alto Networks?
Cato Networks scores 8.70 against 7.05 on our default weights. The weighting lab lets you change the weights.
Do Cato Networks and Palo Alto Networks list FedRAMP?
Cato Networks: not listed on the pages we read. Palo Alto Networks: Yes, per Palo Alto Networks trust center certifications.
Do Cato Networks and Palo Alto Networks describe MCP or AI agent controls?
Cato Networks names MCP controls on its AI pages. Palo Alto Networks does not name MCP on the pages we read.