Skip to content
Best SASE Platforms logoBest SASE Platforms

Edition 2026.10

Best SASE Platforms in 2026 [Ranked & Scored]

Short answer

For an enterprise that wants networking and security delivered as one cloud service, Cato Networks scores highest on our published weights at 8.70 out of 10, followed by Netskope at 8.00. The ranking weighs converged architecture most, then the network, AI security inside the platform and day-to-day operations. Netskope scores highest in set on published certifications, and Fortinet on deployment options.

By The Transit Desk · Best SASE Platforms · Published

Desk research from each vendor's own public pages.

Key takeaways

The question we ask

Which SASE platform gives an enterprise one converged, cloud-delivered network and security service with the least operational overhead?

Scope: single-vendor or converged SASE offers for enterprises, as each vendor presents them on its own pages. Six platforms: Cato Networks, Cisco, Fortinet, Netskope, Palo Alto Networks and Zscaler.

How did we score these platforms?

We read each vendor's own public pages and scored each platform from 0 to 10 on eight criteria, with a one-line reason for every score.

Weights: Converged architecture 20%, Global network, as the vendor states it 15%, Component coverage 10%, Unified management and policy 10%, Vulnerability response transparency 10%, Published compliance certifications 10%, AI security inside the platform 15%, Deployment options 10%. Converged architecture carries the most weight because the question is about running one service instead of several; network, AI security and operations follow.

Network figures are stated on different bases (PoPs, data centers and regions, or none). We quote each vendor's own figure and wording and do not rank the counts against each other. Pricing is not scored because no vendor publishes a SASE price list.

Full method and limits

How do the platforms rank?

SASE platform ranking on our published weights, edition 2026.10
RankPlatformWhat is offeredComponents listedScore
1Cato NetworksCato SASE Platform: SD-WAN, SSE, ZTNA and AI security on one global cloudCato Networks SASE ring: lists 8 of 8 components.8/88 of 8
Cato Networks total 8.70 / 10
2NetskopeNetskope One: SSE, SD-WAN and AI security on the NewEdge networkNetskope SASE ring: lists 8 of 8 components.8/88 of 8
Netskope total 8.00 / 10
3FortinetFortiSASE and Fortinet Unified SASE (FortiSASE with Secure SD-WAN on FortiOS)Fortinet SASE ring: lists 6 of 8 components.6/86 of 8
Fortinet total 7.10 / 10
4Palo Alto NetworksPrisma SASE: Prisma Access, Prisma SD-WAN, Prisma Browser and related productsPalo Alto Networks SASE ring: lists 8 of 8 components.8/88 of 8
Palo Alto Networks total 7.05 / 10
5ZscalerZero Trust Exchange: ZIA, ZPA, Zero Trust Branch and Zero Trust SD-WANZscaler SASE ring: lists 6 of 8 components.6/86 of 8
Zscaler total 6.00 / 10
6CiscoCisco Secure Access (SSE) paired with Cisco SD-WAN or Cisco Meraki SD-WANCisco SASE ring: lists 4 of 8 components.4/84 of 8
Cisco total 5.30 / 10

Score breakdown by criterion

Criterion scores out of 10. highest in set, lowest in set
PlatformConvergence 20%Network 15%Components 10%Management 10%Response 10%Compliance 10%AI security 15%Deployment 10%Total
Cato Networks9 highest in set9 highest in set10 highest in set9 highest in set9 highest in set79 highest in set78.70
Netskope89 highest in set10 highest in set83 lowest in set10 highest in set9 highest in set6 lowest in set8.00
Fortinet8779 highest in set547 lowest in set9 highest in set7.10
Palo Alto Networks6710 highest in set83 lowest in set986 lowest in set7.05
Zscaler7576 lowest in set3 lowest in set3 lowest in set9 highest in set6 lowest in set6.00
Cisco5 lowest in set3 lowest in set5 lowest in set73 lowest in set67 lowest in set75.30

What does each platform offer, and why does it rank there?

1. Cato Networks

Snapshot

What is offeredCato SASE Platform: SD-WAN, SSE, ZTNA and AI security on one global cloud
Architecture, as the vendor describes itCato states the platform is a "purpose-built and self-optimizing global cloud with a single-pass engine, single data lake, and single policy enforcement". Its inspection engine is named the Cato Single Pass Cloud Engine (SPACE).

Source: Cato Networks homepage

Network, as the vendor states itCato states its private backbone, branded Cato Neural Edge, is a "cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide" with "embedded GPU-powered compute". Sites, users and clouds connect over encrypted tunnels to nearby Cato PoPs, and traffic is carried on the backbone with path selection.

Source: Cato global private backbone

Certifications listedCato's compliance page lists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on that page.

Source: Cato security, compliance and privacy

Analyst placement, as the vendor states itCato states it was named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms "for the third consecutive year", citing the report dated 28 July 2026.

Source: Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms

Published pricingNot published

No SASE price list on the pages we read. Pricing is not scored.

Score
8.70 / 10

Why it ranks here

Scores 8.70. Highest or tied highest in set on Convergence, Network, Components, Management, Response and AI security; lowest or tied lowest in set on no criterion.

Best for: Enterprises that want networking, security and AI controls run as one cloud service with one console, and do not need FedRAMP.

What the vendor's pages describe

  • Management and policy: Cato states "one policy engine, one console, single-pass inspection, on an SLA-backed global backbone". Managed service partners get "one multi-tenant console".

    Source: Cato SASE platform

  • Vulnerability response: Cato states it performs virtual patching through the IPS layer of SPACE, with new IPS rules deployed "without requiring any customer involvement", in four steps: assessment, development, opt-in protection in simulate mode, then global protection. It publishes a Detect to Protect log of critical CVEs; most 2026 entries read 1 or 2 days.

    Source: Cato Rapid CVE Mitigation

  • AI security: Cato states its AI security covers users, applications and agents with "One AI-native engine and one console": shadow AI and coding-agent discovery, prompt controls with Monitor, Anonymize and Block actions, mapping of "agents, MCP servers and skills", and runtime blocking of prompt injection and jailbreaks. It states the engine checks "every interaction inline".

    Source: Cato AI security

  • Deployment options: Cato states organizations "can adopt the Cato SASE Platform incrementally" and describes "elastic, modular capabilities". Its homepage describes ZTNA through a "ZTNA Client, Enterprise Browser, Browser Extension, and Clientless Portal" and SSE that can run apart from existing networking.

    Source: Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms

Cato Networks SASE ring: lists 8 of 8 components.8/8Lists 8 of 8 components

Strengths on our criteria

  • Cato states a single-pass engine, one data lake, one policy engine and one console across networking and security.
  • Publishes a per-CVE Detect to Protect log and a four-step virtual patching process that needs no customer action.
  • AI security for users, applications and agents, including MCP servers and coding agents, with inline Monitor, Anonymize and Block actions, as Cato states.

Limits on our criteria

  • FedRAMP is not listed on Cato's compliance page, and its CSA STAR entry is a self-assessment.
  • No self-hosted or sovereign deployment option is described on the pages we read.
  • No price list or licensing model is published on the pages we read.

Bottom line

Cato's score comes from the architecture and operations criteria: it states single-pass inspection, one policy and one console on its own backbone, and it publishes its CVE response record. It scores lower on compliance, where FedRAMP is not listed, and on deployment options. It ranks 1 of 6 on our weights, at 8.70.

Full Cato Networks profile

2. Netskope

Snapshot

What is offeredNetskope One: SSE, SD-WAN and AI security on the NewEdge network
Architecture, as the vendor describes itNetskope states "one engine, one client, one console and one network". Single-pass wording is not used on the page.

Source: Netskope One

Network, as the vendor states itNetskope states NewEdge runs on 120+ data centers in 80+ regions, including Mainland China, "with full compute and all SASE services at the edge in every location", and that it has "complete control over its NewEdge infrastructure".

Source: Netskope NewEdge

Certifications listedNetskope lists FedRAMP High Authorization (GovCloud), AICPA SOC 2, C5, CSA STAR Level II, IRAP and the Data Privacy Framework, with SOC 2 and C5 reports on request.

Source: Netskope security, compliance and assurance

Analyst placement, as the vendor states itNetskope's page states it is a 2026 Magic Quadrant Leader for SASE Platforms and for Security Service Edge.

Source: Netskope: 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant reports for SASE Platforms and SSE

Published pricingNot published

No SASE price list on the pages we read. Pricing is not scored.

Score
8.00 / 10

Why it ranks here

Scores 8.00. Highest or tied highest in set on Network, Components, Compliance and AI security; lowest or tied lowest in set on Response and Deployment.

Best for: Enterprises that need FedRAMP High and want a single-vendor platform on its own data center network.

What the vendor's pages describe

  • Management and policy: Netskope states one console and one client across Netskope One.

    Source: Netskope One

  • Vulnerability response: Not published
  • AI security: Netskope lists AI Command Center, GenAI App Security, Agentic Broker, AI Gateway, AI Guardrails, Agent Action Control and AI Red Teaming. The Agentic Broker offers "unified visibility and control of public MCP servers" and can "block unauthorized MCP communication"; AI Guardrails inspect requests and responses in 29 languages.

    Source: Netskope AI products

  • Deployment options: Netskope's navigation lists Secure SD-WAN and SASE Branch, Endpoint SD-WAN and Private Access. Self-hosted or sovereign options are not described on the pages we read.

    Source: Netskope One

Netskope SASE ring: lists 8 of 8 components.8/8Lists 8 of 8 components

Netskope counts data centers and regions; other vendors count PoPs or give no figure. These figures are on different bases, so we do not rank them against each other.

Strengths on our criteria

  • Lists FedRAMP High Authorization, SOC 2, C5, CSA STAR Level II and IRAP.
  • Netskope states one engine, one client, one console and one network, on NewEdge infrastructure it controls.
  • A dedicated AI product family, including an Agentic Broker for MCP traffic and AI Guardrails for runtime inspection.

Limits on our criteria

  • No CVE or virtual patching response record is published on the pages we read.
  • Single-pass wording is not used on its platform page.
  • A named assistant in the console is not stated on the pages we read.

Bottom line

Netskope pairs a converged platform claim with a certification list that includes FedRAMP High and a broad AI product family. Its total is held back by vulnerability response transparency, where nothing is published on the pages we read. It ranks 2 of 6 on our weights, at 8.00.

Full Netskope profile

3. Fortinet

Snapshot

What is offeredFortiSASE and Fortinet Unified SASE (FortiSASE with Secure SD-WAN on FortiOS)
Architecture, as the vendor describes itFortinet states Unified SASE "merges FortiSASE with Fortinet Secure SD-WAN to create a single, integrated platform", "Built on a single OS, policy engine, and management plane". Single-pass wording is not used on these pages.

Source: Fortinet Unified SASE

Network, as the vendor states itFortinet states "a global network of 200+ PoPs. With Fortinet-owned infrastructure and native security at each location, traffic is inspected locally", with AWS, Google Cloud and Oracle Cloud integration extending coverage. A private backbone between PoPs is not described on the page.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Certifications listedFortinet's trust page states security aligned with the ISO/IEC 27000 series and NIST 800-53. Specific FortiSASE certifications such as SOC 2 or FedRAMP are not stated in the trust page text we read.

Source: Fortinet trust

Analyst placement, as the vendor states itFortinet's page describes it as a Challenger in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Published pricingNot published

No SASE price list on the pages we read. Pricing is not scored.

Score
7.10 / 10

Why it ranks here

Scores 7.10. Highest or tied highest in set on Management and Deployment; lowest or tied lowest in set on AI security.

Best for: Fortinet firewall and SD-WAN estates that want SASE on the same operating system, including sovereign deployments.

What the vendor's pages describe

  • Management and policy: Fortinet states "Unified management, end-to-end DEM, and consistent security policy enforcement" on premises and in the cloud.

    Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

  • Vulnerability response: Fortinet's trust page states PSIRT disclosure aligned with ISO/IEC 30111:2019 and ISO/IEC 29147. A time-to-protect record for FortiSASE is not published on the pages we read.

    Source: Fortinet trust

  • AI security: Fortinet states FortiAI discovers AI applications in use and "blocks unauthorized prompts". FortiAIGate checks "prompts, outputs, and agent tool calls" and catches prompt injection, jailbreaks and data leaks in MCP tool traffic; it is described as self-hosted, with data and logs on the customer's infrastructure.

    Source: Fortinet FortiAIGate

  • Deployment options: Fortinet describes agent-based and agentless options, microbranches and thin edges, native SD-WAN integrations and a "FortiSASE Sovereign" option deployed "by end users in their own data centers".

    Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Fortinet SASE ring: lists 6 of 8 components.6/8Lists 6 of 8 components

Fortinet counts PoPs on Fortinet-owned infrastructure and extends coverage through public clouds. This figure is on a different basis from other vendors' figures, so we do not rank it against them.

Strengths on our criteria

  • Describes agent-based and agentless access, thin edges and a sovereign option run in the customer's own data centers.
  • One operating system, policy engine and management plane across FortiSASE and Secure SD-WAN.
  • Publishes a PSIRT disclosure process aligned with ISO/IEC 30111 and 29147.

Limits on our criteria

  • DLP and remote browser isolation are not in the FortiSASE component list on the page we read.
  • Specific certifications for FortiSASE (SOC 2, FedRAMP) are not stated in the trust page text we read.
  • FortiAIGate is described as self-hosted rather than as part of the FortiSASE cloud service.

Bottom line

Fortinet's score rests on one operating system and policy engine across SASE and SD-WAN and the deployment choices it describes. Component coverage and the certifications stated on its pages hold its total down. It ranks 3 of 6 on our weights, at 7.10.

Full Fortinet profile

4. Palo Alto Networks

Snapshot

What is offeredPrisma SASE: Prisma Access, Prisma SD-WAN, Prisma Browser and related products
Architecture, as the vendor describes itThe SASE page names a product family: Prisma Access, Prisma Browser, Prisma SD-WAN, Remote Browser Isolation, Enterprise DLP, SaaS Security, ADEM and AI Access Security. Single-pass wording is not used on the SASE or Prisma Access pages.

Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE

Network, as the vendor states itPalo Alto Networks states a 99.999% uptime SLA for Prisma Access on what it calls a hyperscale backbone. A PoP or location count is not given in the page text.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Certifications listedThe trust center certifications page lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS, IRAP, FedRAMP and StateRAMP, among others. Which products each covers is not stated in the text we read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center certifications

Analyst placement, as the vendor states itPalo Alto Networks' SASE page states "A 4X Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for SASE Platforms". Report dates are not given in the page text.

Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE

Published pricingNot published

No SASE price list on the pages we read. Pricing is not scored.

Score
7.05 / 10

Why it ranks here

Scores 7.05. Highest or tied highest in set on Components; lowest or tied lowest in set on Response and Deployment.

Best for: Palo Alto Networks customers and regulated teams that need FedRAMP and a broad AI security portfolio.

What the vendor's pages describe

  • Management and policy: Palo Alto Networks describes "simple and unified management and operations" for Prisma Access, with Strata Cloud Manager.

    Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

  • Vulnerability response: Not published
  • AI security: AI Access Security discovers GenAI applications, agents and marketplace plugins, classifies apps as sanctioned, tolerated or unsanctioned, and states inline data detection that blocks sensitive text and files. Prisma AIRS adds AI Gateway, AI Runtime Security, AI Red Teaming, AI Posture Management and Agent Identity Security. MCP is not named on the pages we read.

    Source: Palo Alto Networks AI Access Security

  • Deployment options: Palo Alto Networks lists Prisma Browser and Prisma SD-WAN, and Prisma Access lets customers exceed their purchased mobile user license for temporary emergencies. Self-hosted or sovereign options are not described on the pages we read.

    Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Palo Alto Networks SASE ring: lists 8 of 8 components.8/8Lists 8 of 8 components

These are Palo Alto Networks' own figures. The basis of the threat figure is not given on the page.

Strengths on our criteria

  • Lists all eight SASE components we track across Prisma Access, Prisma SD-WAN, Enterprise DLP, Remote Browser Isolation and ADEM.
  • Its trust center lists FedRAMP, StateRAMP, IRAP, C5, PCI DSS and SOC 2+.
  • A broad AI security portfolio across AI Access Security and Prisma AIRS, including runtime protection and red teaming.

Limits on our criteria

  • Single-pass wording is not used on its SASE or Prisma Access pages, and SASE is presented as a family of named products.
  • No PoP or location count and no CVE response record on the pages we read.
  • MCP-specific controls are not named on the AI pages we read.

Bottom line

Palo Alto Networks lists every component we track, a long certification list and a broad AI portfolio. Its converged architecture score is lower because its pages present SASE as a family of products and do not state single-pass inspection. It ranks 4 of 6 on our weights, at 7.05.

Full Palo Alto Networks profile

5. Zscaler

Snapshot

What is offeredZero Trust Exchange: ZIA, ZPA, Zero Trust Branch and Zero Trust SD-WAN
Architecture, as the vendor describes itZscaler describes a "proxy architecture" that "enables full TLS/SSL inspection at scale", brokering one-to-one connections. Single-pass wording is not used on the pages we read.

Source: Zscaler Zero Trust Exchange

Network, as the vendor states itZscaler positions direct-to-app connectivity without backhauling traffic through data centers or stacks of appliances. A private backbone and a data center or PoP count are not stated on the pages we read.

Source: Zscaler SASE

Certifications listedNot published
Analyst placement, as the vendor states itZscaler's SASE page states it was "recognized as a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant reports for SASE and SSE".

Source: Zscaler SASE

Published pricingNot published

No SASE price list on the pages we read. Pricing is not scored.

Score
6.00 / 10

Why it ranks here

Scores 6.00. Highest or tied highest in set on AI security; lowest or tied lowest in set on Management, Response, Compliance and Deployment.

Best for: Organizations replacing VPNs and appliance firewalls with proxy-based zero trust access and AI controls.

What the vendor's pages describe

  • Management and policy: Zscaler states a "unified, cloud native platform". A single console for networking and security is not described on the pages we read.

    Source: Zscaler SASE

  • Vulnerability response: Not published
  • AI security: Zscaler states AI Access Security can "Allow, block, or coach access" and classify prompt content. Its AI security page lists discovery of "models, agents, MCP servers, shadow AI", AI red teaming, and an AI Gateway that can "Secure agentic communications through MCP and A2A brokers".

    Source: Zscaler AI security

  • Deployment options: Zscaler lists Zero Trust Branch, Zero Trust SD-WAN, Zero Trust Cloud and Zero Trust Browser, and access to private apps "without a VPN". Self-hosted or sovereign options are not described on the pages we read.

    Source: Zscaler SASE

Zscaler SASE ring: lists 6 of 8 components.6/8Lists 6 of 8 components

Zscaler's own figure, describing the signals its policy decisions use.

Strengths on our criteria

  • AI security that names MCP and A2A brokers, AI asset discovery and AI red teaming.
  • States full TLS/SSL inspection through its proxy architecture.
  • Branch, cloud and SD-WAN offerings under one zero trust model.

Limits on our criteria

  • A private backbone and a PoP or data center count are not stated on the pages we read.
  • Compliance certifications, including FedRAMP, are not stated on the pages we read.
  • CASB and remote browser isolation are not named on the SASE page we read, and no CVE response record is published there.

Bottom line

Zscaler's AI security pages name MCP and A2A brokers, AI asset discovery and AI red teaming. Network, compliance and response transparency are thin on the pages we read, which holds its total down on a question about one converged service. It ranks 5 of 6 on our weights, at 6.00.

Full Zscaler profile

6. Cisco

Snapshot

What is offeredCisco Secure Access (SSE) paired with Cisco SD-WAN or Cisco Meraki SD-WAN
Architecture, as the vendor describes itCisco's SASE page pairs Secure Access with Cisco SD-WAN or Cisco Meraki SD-WAN, listed as separate products. Single-pass wording is not used on the pages we read.

Source: Cisco SASE solution

Network, as the vendor states itNot published
Certifications listedCisco states "Cisco Secure Access achieves FedRAMP authorization", covering Secure Internet Access, VPN as a Service and ZTNA. Other certifications are not stated on the page.

Source: Cisco Secure Access

Analyst placement, as the vendor states itCisco's SASE page states "Cisco named a SASE Leader"; the analyst firm and report are not named in the page text.

Source: Cisco SASE solution

Published pricingNot published

No SASE price list on the pages we read. Pricing is not scored.

Score
5.30 / 10

Why it ranks here

Scores 5.30. Highest or tied highest in set on no criterion; lowest or tied lowest in set on Convergence, Network, Components, Response and AI security.

Best for: Cisco and Meraki networking estates that want an SSE layer with FedRAMP authorization.

What the vendor's pages describe

  • Management and policy: Cisco states Secure Access offers "a single console, unified client, and centralized policy management".

    Source: Cisco Secure Access

  • Vulnerability response: Not published
  • AI security: AI Access in Secure Access "inspects web traffic to identify uses of shadow AI" and can block or redirect requests to approved services. Secure Access describes agent discovery, "short-lived, least-privilege access tokens" and "inline runtime monitoring"; Cisco AI Defense adds red teaming and runtime guardrails. MCP is not named on the pages we read.

    Source: Cisco Secure Access AI Access

  • Deployment options: Cisco describes ZTNA "client or clientless", VPN as a Service for apps outside ZTNA, a DNS Defense entry tier, and a choice of two SD-WAN lines.

    Source: Cisco Secure Access

Cisco SASE ring: lists 4 of 8 components.4/8Lists 4 of 8 components

A third-party test cited by Cisco; we did not read the SE Labs report.

Strengths on our criteria

  • FedRAMP authorization for Secure Access, covering Secure Internet Access, VPN as a Service and ZTNA.
  • A single console, unified client and centralized policy for Secure Access.
  • Agent security on Secure Access with owner mapping, short-lived tokens and inline runtime monitoring.

Limits on our criteria

  • SD-WAN comes from one of two separate product lines paired with Secure Access, per Cisco's SASE page.
  • No backbone, PoP or uptime figures on the pages we read.
  • CASB, FWaaS, DLP and remote browser isolation are not named on the pages we read.

Bottom line

Cisco's strengths here are FedRAMP authorization for Secure Access, a single console for its SSE and flexible access options. On a question about one converged service, the pairing of an SSE with separate SD-WAN lines and the thin network detail on its pages keep its total low. It ranks 6 of 6 on our weights, at 5.30.

Full Cisco profile

How do the platforms compare side by side?

Side-by-side comparison, platforms in rank order. Numbers link to the sources below.
RowCato NetworksNetskopeFortinetPalo Alto NetworksZscalerCisco
What is offeredCato SASE Platform: SD-WAN, SSE, ZTNA and AI security on one global cloud1Netskope One: SSE, SD-WAN and AI security on the NewEdge network2FortiSASE and Fortinet Unified SASE (FortiSASE with Secure SD-WAN on FortiOS)3Prisma SASE: Prisma Access, Prisma SD-WAN, Prisma Browser and related products4Zero Trust Exchange: ZIA, ZPA, Zero Trust Branch and Zero Trust SD-WAN5Cisco Secure Access (SSE) paired with Cisco SD-WAN or Cisco Meraki SD-WAN6
ArchitectureCato states the platform is a "purpose-built and self-optimizing global cloud with a single-pass engine, single data lake, and single policy enforcement". Its inspection engine is named the Cato Single Pass Cloud Engine (SPACE).1Netskope states "one engine, one client, one console and one network". Single-pass wording is not used on the page.2Fortinet states Unified SASE "merges FortiSASE with Fortinet Secure SD-WAN to create a single, integrated platform", "Built on a single OS, policy engine, and management plane". Single-pass wording is not used on these pages.7The SASE page names a product family: Prisma Access, Prisma Browser, Prisma SD-WAN, Remote Browser Isolation, Enterprise DLP, SaaS Security, ADEM and AI Access Security. Single-pass wording is not used on the SASE or Prisma Access pages.4Zscaler describes a "proxy architecture" that "enables full TLS/SSL inspection at scale", brokering one-to-one connections. Single-pass wording is not used on the pages we read.8Cisco's SASE page pairs Secure Access with Cisco SD-WAN or Cisco Meraki SD-WAN, listed as separate products. Single-pass wording is not used on the pages we read.9
NetworkCato states its private backbone, branded Cato Neural Edge, is a "cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide" with "embedded GPU-powered compute". Sites, users and clouds connect over encrypted tunnels to nearby Cato PoPs, and traffic is carried on the backbone with path selection.10Netskope states NewEdge runs on 120+ data centers in 80+ regions, including Mainland China, "with full compute and all SASE services at the edge in every location", and that it has "complete control over its NewEdge infrastructure".11Fortinet states "a global network of 200+ PoPs. With Fortinet-owned infrastructure and native security at each location, traffic is inspected locally", with AWS, Google Cloud and Oracle Cloud integration extending coverage. A private backbone between PoPs is not described on the page.3Palo Alto Networks states a 99.999% uptime SLA for Prisma Access on what it calls a hyperscale backbone. A PoP or location count is not given in the page text.12Zscaler positions direct-to-app connectivity without backhauling traffic through data centers or stacks of appliances. A private backbone and a data center or PoP count are not stated on the pages we read.5Not published
Components listed8 of 8138 of 826 of 838 of 846 of 854 of 89
Management and policyCato states "one policy engine, one console, single-pass inspection, on an SLA-backed global backbone". Managed service partners get "one multi-tenant console".14Netskope states one console and one client across Netskope One.2Fortinet states "Unified management, end-to-end DEM, and consistent security policy enforcement" on premises and in the cloud.3Palo Alto Networks describes "simple and unified management and operations" for Prisma Access, with Strata Cloud Manager.12Zscaler states a "unified, cloud native platform". A single console for networking and security is not described on the pages we read.5Cisco states Secure Access offers "a single console, unified client, and centralized policy management".6
Vulnerability responseCato states it performs virtual patching through the IPS layer of SPACE, with new IPS rules deployed "without requiring any customer involvement", in four steps: assessment, development, opt-in protection in simulate mode, then global protection. It publishes a Detect to Protect log of critical CVEs; most 2026 entries read 1 or 2 days.15Not publishedFortinet's trust page states PSIRT disclosure aligned with ISO/IEC 30111:2019 and ISO/IEC 29147. A time-to-protect record for FortiSASE is not published on the pages we read.16Not publishedNot publishedNot published
Certifications listedCato's compliance page lists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on that page.17Netskope lists FedRAMP High Authorization (GovCloud), AICPA SOC 2, C5, CSA STAR Level II, IRAP and the Data Privacy Framework, with SOC 2 and C5 reports on request.18Fortinet's trust page states security aligned with the ISO/IEC 27000 series and NIST 800-53. Specific FortiSASE certifications such as SOC 2 or FedRAMP are not stated in the trust page text we read.16The trust center certifications page lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS, IRAP, FedRAMP and StateRAMP, among others. Which products each covers is not stated in the text we read.19Not publishedCisco states "Cisco Secure Access achieves FedRAMP authorization", covering Secure Internet Access, VPN as a Service and ZTNA. Other certifications are not stated on the page.6
FedRAMP listedNot listed17Yes18Not listed16Yes19Not listedYes6
MCP controls namedYes20Yes21Yes22Not named23Yes24Not named25
AI securityCato states its AI security covers users, applications and agents with "One AI-native engine and one console": shadow AI and coding-agent discovery, prompt controls with Monitor, Anonymize and Block actions, mapping of "agents, MCP servers and skills", and runtime blocking of prompt injection and jailbreaks. It states the engine checks "every interaction inline".20Netskope lists AI Command Center, GenAI App Security, Agentic Broker, AI Gateway, AI Guardrails, Agent Action Control and AI Red Teaming. The Agentic Broker offers "unified visibility and control of public MCP servers" and can "block unauthorized MCP communication"; AI Guardrails inspect requests and responses in 29 languages.26Fortinet states FortiAI discovers AI applications in use and "blocks unauthorized prompts". FortiAIGate checks "prompts, outputs, and agent tool calls" and catches prompt injection, jailbreaks and data leaks in MCP tool traffic; it is described as self-hosted, with data and logs on the customer's infrastructure.22AI Access Security discovers GenAI applications, agents and marketplace plugins, classifies apps as sanctioned, tolerated or unsanctioned, and states inline data detection that blocks sensitive text and files. Prisma AIRS adds AI Gateway, AI Runtime Security, AI Red Teaming, AI Posture Management and Agent Identity Security. MCP is not named on the pages we read.23Zscaler states AI Access Security can "Allow, block, or coach access" and classify prompt content. Its AI security page lists discovery of "models, agents, MCP servers, shadow AI", AI red teaming, and an AI Gateway that can "Secure agentic communications through MCP and A2A brokers".24AI Access in Secure Access "inspects web traffic to identify uses of shadow AI" and can block or redirect requests to approved services. Secure Access describes agent discovery, "short-lived, least-privilege access tokens" and "inline runtime monitoring"; Cisco AI Defense adds red teaming and runtime guardrails. MCP is not named on the pages we read.25
Deployment optionsCato states organizations "can adopt the Cato SASE Platform incrementally" and describes "elastic, modular capabilities". Its homepage describes ZTNA through a "ZTNA Client, Enterprise Browser, Browser Extension, and Clientless Portal" and SSE that can run apart from existing networking.27Netskope's navigation lists Secure SD-WAN and SASE Branch, Endpoint SD-WAN and Private Access. Self-hosted or sovereign options are not described on the pages we read.2Fortinet describes agent-based and agentless options, microbranches and thin edges, native SD-WAN integrations and a "FortiSASE Sovereign" option deployed "by end users in their own data centers".3Palo Alto Networks lists Prisma Browser and Prisma SD-WAN, and Prisma Access lets customers exceed their purchased mobile user license for temporary emergencies. Self-hosted or sovereign options are not described on the pages we read.12Zscaler lists Zero Trust Branch, Zero Trust SD-WAN, Zero Trust Cloud and Zero Trust Browser, and access to private apps "without a VPN". Self-hosted or sovereign options are not described on the pages we read.5Cisco describes ZTNA "client or clientless", VPN as a Service for apps outside ZTNA, a DNS Defense entry tier, and a choice of two SD-WAN lines.6
Assistant in the consoleCato Copilot answers natural-language questions inside the Cato Management Application, as Cato describes it.28Not publishedFortiAI-Assist, an embedded assistant that uses natural language and voice-to-text, as Fortinet describes it.29Strata Copilot in Strata Cloud Manager, as Palo Alto Networks describes it.23Not publishedNot published
Published pricingNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Total8.708.007.107.056.005.30

Sources

  1. Cato Networks homepagehttps://www.catonetworks.com/
  2. Netskope Onehttps://www.netskope.com/netskope-one
  3. Fortinet FortiSASEhttps://www.fortinet.com/products/sase
  4. Palo Alto Networks SASEhttps://www.paloaltonetworks.com/sase
  5. Zscaler SASEhttps://www.zscaler.com/products-and-solutions/secure-access-service-edge-sase
  6. Cisco Secure Accesshttps://www.cisco.com/site/us/en/products/security/secure-access/index.html
  7. Fortinet Unified SASEhttps://www.fortinet.com/solutions/unified-sase
  8. Zscaler Zero Trust Exchangehttps://www.zscaler.com/products-and-solutions/zero-trust-exchange-zte
  9. Cisco SASE solutionhttps://www.cisco.com/site/us/en/solutions/secure-access-service-edge-sase/index.html
  10. Cato global private backbonehttps://www.catonetworks.com/platform/global-private-backbone/
  11. Netskope NewEdgehttps://www.netskope.com/netskope-one/newedge
  12. Palo Alto Networks Prisma Accesshttps://www.paloaltonetworks.com/sase/access
  13. Cato SD-WANhttps://www.catonetworks.com/platform/software-defined-wan-sd-wan/
  14. Cato SASE platformhttps://www.catonetworks.com/solutions/sase-platform/
  15. Cato Rapid CVE Mitigationhttps://www.catonetworks.com/rapid-cve-mitigation/
  16. Fortinet trusthttps://www.fortinet.com/trust
  17. Cato security, compliance and privacyhttps://www.catonetworks.com/security-compliance-and-privacy/
  18. Netskope security, compliance and assurancehttps://www.netskope.com/company/security-compliance-and-assurance
  19. Palo Alto Networks trust center certificationshttps://www.paloaltonetworks.com/legal-notices/trust-center/certifications
  20. Cato AI securityhttps://www.catonetworks.com/solutions/ai-security/
  21. Netskope Agentic Brokerhttps://www.netskope.com/products/agentic-broker
  22. Fortinet FortiAIGatehttps://www.fortinet.com/products/fortiaigate
  23. Palo Alto Networks AI Access Securityhttps://www.paloaltonetworks.com/sase/ai-access-security
  24. Zscaler AI securityhttps://www.zscaler.com/products-and-solutions/ai-security
  25. Cisco Secure Access AI Accesshttps://www.cisco.com/site/us/en/products/security/secure-access/ai-access/index.html
  26. Netskope AI productshttps://www.netskope.com/products/ai-products
  27. Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platformshttps://www.catonetworks.com/news/cato-named-leader-in-the-2026-gartner-magic-quadrant-for-sase-platforms/
  28. Cato AI-powered securityhttps://www.catonetworks.com/ai-powered-security/
  29. Fortinet FortiAI-Assisthttps://www.fortinet.com/products/fortiai-assist

Which head-to-head pairings can I read?

Considering a switch from a specific platform?

From the Transit Log

  • A SASE RFP checklist built from what vendors publish

    This checklist turns our eight criteria into RFP questions. It focuses on the gaps we found while reading the six vendors' pages: undefined network counts, missing SLA terms, unstated certification scope, absent response records and unpublished pricing.

    3 min read

  • Coding agents and SASE: what vendors say about Claude Code, Cursor and Codex

    AI coding agents act on code, terminals and internal tools, so they are a new kind of user for a SASE platform to govern. Cato names enforcement for Claude Code, Cursor and Codex, Netskope inventories MCP clients including Cursor and VS Code, Zscaler describes inline controls for AI developer tools and Palo Alto Networks describes securing AI coding agents.

    3 min read

  • Uptime, threats and signals: how to read SASE vendor numbers

    SASE vendors publish many numbers: uptime SLAs, PoP and data center counts, threats blocked, daily signals, app catalogue sizes and CVE response times. Each is the vendor's own figure, measured its own way. Read the unit and the basis before you compare.

    3 min read

Frequently asked questions

What is the best SASE platform in 2026?

On our published weights, Cato Networks scores highest at 8.70, followed by Netskope at 8.00. The answer depends on your requirements: a team that needs FedRAMP should start with the vendors that list it.

Which SASE vendors list FedRAMP?

On the pages we read: Netskope, Palo Alto Networks and Cisco. Cato Networks, Fortinet and Zscaler do not list FedRAMP on those pages. Confirm the scope of any authorization with the vendor.

Is single-pass inspection the same as a single platform?

No. Single-pass means traffic is inspected once by one engine for all security functions. A single platform can still run separate engines behind one console. Of the six vendors, only Cato uses single-pass wording on the pages we read; the others describe one OS, one engine, a proxy architecture or a product family.

Can I compare PoP counts across vendors?

Not directly. Cato states 100+ PoPs on its private backbone, Fortinet 200+ PoPs on Fortinet-owned infrastructure plus public cloud extension, and Netskope 120+ data centers in 80+ regions. Palo Alto Networks, Zscaler and Cisco give no count on the pages we read. The bases differ, so we quote them and do not rank them.

Are analyst placements part of the score?

No. We quote each vendor's own statement about its placement, with a source citation. Placements are not scored.

How often is this ranking updated?

When a vendor changes a page that affects a score. This edition uses the vendors' own public pages.

Continue reading