Skip to content
Best SASE Platforms logoBest SASE Platforms

Pairing

Cato Networks vs Fortinet: which SASE platform fits your enterprise?

Short answer

On our published weights Cato Networks scores 8.70 against 7.10 for Fortinet. Cato Networks scores higher on converged architecture, global network, as the vendor states it, component coverage, vulnerability response transparency, published compliance certifications and AI security inside the platform; Fortinet scores higher on deployment options. They tie on unified management and policy. Network figures are stated on different bases, so compare them in each vendor's own words.

By The Transit Desk · Best SASE Platforms · Published

Desk research from each vendor's own public pages.

How do the scores compare?

Criterion scores out of 10, with the higher score per row computed from the data
CriterionCato NetworksFortinetHigher
Converged architecture 20%

Cato: Cato states one cloud with a single-pass engine, single data lake and single policy enforcement across networking and security.

Fortinet: States one operating system, client and data lake, and a single OS, policy engine and management plane across SASE and SD-WAN; single-pass is not stated.

98Cato Networks
Global network, as the vendor states it 15%

Cato: States a private global backbone of 100+ PoPs with path selection and a 99.999% uptime SLA; SLA terms are not on the page.

Fortinet: States 200+ PoPs on Fortinet-owned infrastructure plus public cloud extension; a private backbone between PoPs is not described.

97Cato Networks
Component coverage 10%

Cato: Lists all eight components we track, each with its own platform page.

Fortinet: Lists six of the eight: DLP and remote browser isolation are not named.

107Cato Networks
Unified management and policy 10%

Cato: States one policy engine and one console, a multi-tenant console for partners, and Cato Copilot inside the console.

Fortinet: States unified management and consistent policy on premises and in the cloud, plus the FortiAI-Assist assistant.

99Tie
Vulnerability response transparency 10%

Cato: Publishes a per-CVE Detect to Protect log and a four-step virtual patching process that needs no customer action.

Fortinet: Publishes a PSIRT disclosure process aligned with ISO standards, but no time-to-protect record for FortiSASE.

95Cato Networks
Published compliance certifications 10%

Cato: Lists SOC 2 and 3, PCI-DSS Level 1, five ISO standards, ENS High and Cyber Essentials; FedRAMP is not listed and CSA STAR is a self-assessment.

Fortinet: States alignment with the ISO 27000 series and NIST 800-53; specific certifications for FortiSASE are not stated.

74Cato Networks
AI security inside the platform 15%

Cato: Describes discovery, prompt controls, MCP and coding-agent controls and runtime protection for users, apps and agents, with inline Block actions.

Fortinet: FortiAI discovery and prompt blocking, and FortiAIGate inspection of MCP tool traffic, which is described as self-hosted.

97Cato Networks
Deployment options 10%

Cato: Incremental adoption, four ZTNA access methods including clientless and browser, and SSE on its own; no self-hosted or sovereign option described.

Fortinet: Agent-based and agentless options, thin edges, native SD-WAN integrations and a sovereign option run in the customer's data centers.

79Fortinet
Total8.707.10Cato Networks

Cato Networks

Cato Networks total 8.70 / 10

Fortinet

Fortinet total 7.10 / 10

Which components does each list?

Cato Networks SASE ring: lists 8 of 8 components.8/8Cato Networks: 8 of 8
Fortinet SASE ring: lists 6 of 8 components.6/8Fortinet: 6 of 8

Filled arcs: listed on the vendor's pages. Dashed arcs: not listed on the pages we read. A filled arc does not measure how well the component works.

Components listed by each vendor
ComponentCato NetworksFortinet
SD-WANListedListed
SWGListedListed
CASBListedListed
ZTNAListedListed
FWaaSListedListed
DLPListedNot listed
RBIListedNot listed
DEMListedListed

How are they built and run?

Cato Networks

Architecture

Cato states the platform is a "purpose-built and self-optimizing global cloud with a single-pass engine, single data lake, and single policy enforcement". Its inspection engine is named the Cato Single Pass Cloud Engine (SPACE).

Source: Cato Networks homepage

Network

Cato states its private backbone, branded Cato Neural Edge, is a "cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide" with "embedded GPU-powered compute". Sites, users and clouds connect over encrypted tunnels to nearby Cato PoPs, and traffic is carried on the backbone with path selection.

Source: Cato global private backbone

Management and policy

Cato states "one policy engine, one console, single-pass inspection, on an SLA-backed global backbone". Managed service partners get "one multi-tenant console".

Source: Cato SASE platform

Fortinet

Architecture

Fortinet states Unified SASE "merges FortiSASE with Fortinet Secure SD-WAN to create a single, integrated platform", "Built on a single OS, policy engine, and management plane". Single-pass wording is not used on these pages.

Source: Fortinet Unified SASE

Network

Fortinet states "a global network of 200+ PoPs. With Fortinet-owned infrastructure and native security at each location, traffic is inspected locally", with AWS, Google Cloud and Oracle Cloud integration extending coverage. A private backbone between PoPs is not described on the page.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Management and policy

Fortinet states "Unified management, end-to-end DEM, and consistent security policy enforcement" on premises and in the cloud.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

How do they handle vulnerabilities and compliance?

Cato Networks

Vulnerability response

Cato states it performs virtual patching through the IPS layer of SPACE, with new IPS rules deployed "without requiring any customer involvement", in four steps: assessment, development, opt-in protection in simulate mode, then global protection. It publishes a Detect to Protect log of critical CVEs; most 2026 entries read 1 or 2 days.

Source: Cato Rapid CVE Mitigation

Certifications listed

Cato's compliance page lists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on that page.

Source: Cato security, compliance and privacy

FedRAMP listed: Not listed

Fortinet

Vulnerability response

Fortinet's trust page states PSIRT disclosure aligned with ISO/IEC 30111:2019 and ISO/IEC 29147. A time-to-protect record for FortiSASE is not published on the pages we read.

Source: Fortinet trust

Certifications listed

Fortinet's trust page states security aligned with the ISO/IEC 27000 series and NIST 800-53. Specific FortiSASE certifications such as SOC 2 or FedRAMP are not stated in the trust page text we read.

Source: Fortinet trust

FedRAMP listed: Not listed

What do they offer for AI security?

Cato Networks

AI security

Cato states its AI security covers users, applications and agents with "One AI-native engine and one console": shadow AI and coding-agent discovery, prompt controls with Monitor, Anonymize and Block actions, mapping of "agents, MCP servers and skills", and runtime blocking of prompt injection and jailbreaks. It states the engine checks "every interaction inline".

Source: Cato AI security

MCP controls named: Yes

Fortinet

AI security

Fortinet states FortiAI discovers AI applications in use and "blocks unauthorized prompts". FortiAIGate checks "prompts, outputs, and agent tool calls" and catches prompt injection, jailbreaks and data leaks in MCP tool traffic; it is described as self-hosted, with data and logs on the customer's infrastructure.

Source: Fortinet FortiAIGate

MCP controls named: Yes

How can each be deployed?

Cato Networks

Deployment options

Cato states organizations "can adopt the Cato SASE Platform incrementally" and describes "elastic, modular capabilities". Its homepage describes ZTNA through a "ZTNA Client, Enterprise Browser, Browser Extension, and Clientless Portal" and SSE that can run apart from existing networking.

Source: Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms

Assistant in the console

Cato Copilot answers natural-language questions inside the Cato Management Application, as Cato describes it.

Source: Cato AI-powered security

Fortinet

Deployment options

Fortinet describes agent-based and agentless options, microbranches and thin edges, native SD-WAN integrations and a "FortiSASE Sovereign" option deployed "by end users in their own data centers".

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Assistant in the console

FortiAI-Assist, an embedded assistant that uses natural language and voice-to-text, as Fortinet describes it.

Source: Fortinet FortiAI-Assist

What does each state about itself?

Cato Networks

Analyst placement, as the vendor states it

Cato states it was named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms "for the third consecutive year", citing the report dated 28 July 2026.

Source: Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms

Fortinet

Fortinet counts PoPs on Fortinet-owned infrastructure and extends coverage through public clouds. This figure is on a different basis from other vendors' figures, so we do not rank it against them.

Analyst placement, as the vendor states it

Fortinet's page describes it as a Challenger in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Which should you choose?

Choose Cato Networks if

you value a full set of SASE components from one vendor and one engine and one policy for networking and security.

Best for: Enterprises that want networking, security and AI controls run as one cloud service with one console, and do not need FedRAMP.

Choose Fortinet if

you value one console and one policy and a wide choice of deployment models.

Best for: Fortinet firewall and SD-WAN estates that want SASE on the same operating system, including sovereign deployments.

Frequently asked questions

Which scores higher overall, Cato Networks or Fortinet?

Cato Networks scores 8.70 against 7.10 on our default weights. The weighting lab lets you change the weights.

Do Cato Networks and Fortinet list FedRAMP?

Cato Networks: not listed on the pages we read. Fortinet: not listed on the pages we read.

Do Cato Networks and Fortinet describe MCP or AI agent controls?

Cato Networks names MCP controls on its AI pages. Fortinet names MCP controls on its AI pages.

Continue reading