Skip to content
Best SASE Platforms logoBest SASE Platforms

Platform profile

Cisco Secure Access review: Cisco's SSE paired with SD-WAN

Short answer

Cisco describes Secure Access as a cloud-delivered SSE with a single console, unified client and centralized policy, and states FedRAMP authorization for it. Its SASE pairs Secure Access with Cisco SD-WAN or Meraki SD-WAN. It scores 5.30 and ranks 6 of 6; network figures and several components are not listed on the pages we read.

By The Transit Desk · Best SASE Platforms · Published

Desk research from each vendor's own public pages.

Score on our weights

Cisco total 5.30 / 10

Rank 6 of 6 on our published weights

Change the weights in the weighting lab

What does Cisco offer as a SASE platform?

Cisco describes Secure Access as a "cloud-delivered security service edge (SSE) solution, grounded in zero trust".

Source: Cisco Secure Access

Cisco snapshot, from the vendor's own pages
What is offeredCisco Secure Access (SSE) paired with Cisco SD-WAN or Cisco Meraki SD-WAN
Architecture, as the vendor describes itCisco's SASE page pairs Secure Access with Cisco SD-WAN or Cisco Meraki SD-WAN, listed as separate products. Single-pass wording is not used on the pages we read.

Source: Cisco SASE solution

Network, as the vendor states itNot published
Management and policyCisco states Secure Access offers "a single console, unified client, and centralized policy management".

Source: Cisco Secure Access

Vulnerability responseNot published
Certifications listedCisco states "Cisco Secure Access achieves FedRAMP authorization", covering Secure Internet Access, VPN as a Service and ZTNA. Other certifications are not stated on the page.

Source: Cisco Secure Access

AI securityAI Access in Secure Access "inspects web traffic to identify uses of shadow AI" and can block or redirect requests to approved services. Secure Access describes agent discovery, "short-lived, least-privilege access tokens" and "inline runtime monitoring"; Cisco AI Defense adds red teaming and runtime guardrails. MCP is not named on the pages we read.

Source: Cisco Secure Access AI Access

Deployment optionsCisco describes ZTNA "client or clientless", VPN as a Service for apps outside ZTNA, a DNS Defense entry tier, and a choice of two SD-WAN lines.

Source: Cisco Secure Access

Assistant in the consoleNot published
Analyst placement, as the vendor states itCisco's SASE page states "Cisco named a SASE Leader"; the analyst firm and report are not named in the page text.

Source: Cisco SASE solution

Published pricingNot published

No SASE price list on the pages we read. Pricing is not scored.

Which SASE components does Cisco list?

Cisco SASE ring: lists 4 of 8 components.4/8listed
  • 1. SD-WAN: Listed
  • 2. SWG: Listed
  • 3. CASB: Not listed
  • 4. ZTNA: Listed
  • 5. FWaaS: Not listed
  • 6. DLP: Not listed
  • 7. RBI: Not listed
  • 8. DEM: Listed
Solid arc swatchListed on the vendor's pagesDashed arc swatchNot listed on the pages we read
A filled arc means the vendor's own pages list that component. It does not measure how well the component works.
  • SD-WAN (Software-defined WAN): Listed. Cisco SD-WAN or Cisco Meraki SD-WAN, separate products.

    Source: Cisco SASE solution

  • SWG (Secure web gateway): Listed. Secure internet access.

    Source: Cisco Secure Access

  • CASB (Cloud access security broker): Not listed
  • ZTNA (Zero trust network access): Listed. ZTNA, client or clientless.

    Source: Cisco Secure Access

  • FWaaS (Firewall as a service): Not listed
  • DLP (Data loss prevention): Not listed
  • RBI (Remote browser isolation): Not listed
  • DEM (Digital experience monitoring): Listed. Experience Insights, powered by ThousandEyes.

    Source: Cisco Secure Access

What figures does Cisco publish about itself?

A third-party test cited by Cisco; we did not read the SE Labs report.

How does Cisco score on each criterion?

Scores by criterion, with badges computed against all six platforms
CriterionWeightScoreWhy
Converged architecture20%
5 / 10
Lowest in set
Pairs Secure Access SSE with one of two separate SD-WAN product lines; single-pass is not stated.

Source: Cisco SASE solution

Global network, as the vendor states it15%
3 / 10
Lowest in set
No backbone, PoP or uptime figures are stated on the pages read.

Source: Cisco Secure Access

Component coverage10%
5 / 10
Lowest in set
Lists four of the eight: SD-WAN, SWG, ZTNA and DEM.

Source: Cisco Secure Access

Unified management and policy10%
7 / 10
States a single console, unified client and centralized policy for Secure Access; SD-WAN management is not described with it.

Source: Cisco Secure Access

Vulnerability response transparency10%
3 / 10
Tied lowest
No vulnerability response record is published on the pages read.

Source: Cisco Secure Access

Published compliance certifications10%
6 / 10
States FedRAMP authorization for Secure Access; other certifications are not stated on the page.

Source: Cisco Secure Access

AI security inside the platform15%
7 / 10
Tied lowest
AI Access shadow AI controls, agent tokens and inline runtime monitoring, and AI Defense guardrails; MCP is not named.

Source: Cisco Secure Access AI Access

Deployment options10%
7 / 10
Client or clientless ZTNA, VPN as a Service, a DNS Defense entry tier and a choice of two SD-WAN lines.

Source: Cisco Secure Access

Where does Cisco score well, and where does it score lower?

Scores well

  • FedRAMP authorization for Secure Access, covering Secure Internet Access, VPN as a Service and ZTNA.
  • A single console, unified client and centralized policy for Secure Access.
  • Agent security on Secure Access with owner mapping, short-lived tokens and inline runtime monitoring.

Scores lower

Another platform scores higher on: converged architecture, global network, as the vendor states it, component coverage, unified management and policy, vulnerability response transparency, published compliance certifications, AI security inside the platform and deployment options.

  • SD-WAN comes from one of two separate product lines paired with Secure Access, per Cisco's SASE page.
  • No backbone, PoP or uptime figures on the pages we read.
  • CASB, FWaaS, DLP and remote browser isolation are not named on the pages we read.

How does Cisco compare head to head?

Bottom line

Cisco's strengths here are FedRAMP authorization for Secure Access, a single console for its SSE and flexible access options. On a question about one converged service, the pairing of an SSE with separate SD-WAN lines and the thin network detail on its pages keep its total low. It ranks 6 of 6 on our weights, at 5.30.

Best for: Cisco and Meraki networking estates that want an SSE layer with FedRAMP authorization.

Further reading: SD-WAN inside SASE: how each vendor ships the networking half, SASE analyst placements in 2026, in each vendor's own words

Frequently asked questions

Does Cisco list FedRAMP?

Yes. Cisco states "Cisco Secure Access achieves FedRAMP authorization", covering Secure Internet Access, VPN as a Service and ZTNA. Other certifications are not stated on the page.

Does Cisco describe controls for AI agents and MCP?

MCP is not named on the pages we read. AI Access in Secure Access "inspects web traffic to identify uses of shadow AI" and can block or redirect requests to approved services. Secure Access describes agent discovery, "short-lived, least-privilege access tokens" and "inline runtime monitoring"; Cisco AI Defense adds red teaming and runtime guardrails. MCP is not named on the pages we read.

How many SASE components does Cisco list?

4 of the eight we track: SD-WAN, SWG, ZTNA and DEM. Not listed on the pages we read: CASB, FWaaS, DLP and RBI.

Continue reading