Skip to content
Best SASE Platforms logoBest SASE Platforms

Pairing

Cato Networks vs Zscaler: which SASE platform fits your enterprise?

Short answer

On our published weights Cato Networks scores 8.70 against 6.00 for Zscaler. Cato Networks scores higher on converged architecture, global network, as the vendor states it, component coverage, unified management and policy, vulnerability response transparency, published compliance certifications and deployment options. They tie on AI security inside the platform. Network figures are stated on different bases, so compare them in each vendor's own words.

By The Transit Desk · Best SASE Platforms · Published

Desk research from each vendor's own public pages.

How do the scores compare?

Criterion scores out of 10, with the higher score per row computed from the data
CriterionCato NetworksZscalerHigher
Converged architecture 20%

Cato: Cato states one cloud with a single-pass engine, single data lake and single policy enforcement across networking and security.

Zscaler: States it converges networking and security into one cloud platform with a proxy architecture; single-pass is not stated.

97Cato Networks
Global network, as the vendor states it 15%

Cato: States a private global backbone of 100+ PoPs with path selection and a 99.999% uptime SLA; SLA terms are not on the page.

Zscaler: Describes direct-to-app connectivity; no private backbone or PoP count on the pages read.

95Cato Networks
Component coverage 10%

Cato: Lists all eight components we track, each with its own platform page.

Zscaler: Lists six of the eight: CASB and remote browser isolation are not named on the pages read.

107Cato Networks
Unified management and policy 10%

Cato: States one policy engine and one console, a multi-tenant console for partners, and Cato Copilot inside the console.

Zscaler: States a unified platform; a single console is not described on the pages read.

96Cato Networks
Vulnerability response transparency 10%

Cato: Publishes a per-CVE Detect to Protect log and a four-step virtual patching process that needs no customer action.

Zscaler: No vulnerability response record is published on the pages read.

93Cato Networks
Published compliance certifications 10%

Cato: Lists SOC 2 and 3, PCI-DSS Level 1, five ISO standards, ENS High and Cyber Essentials; FedRAMP is not listed and CSA STAR is a self-assessment.

Zscaler: No certifications are stated on the pages read.

73Cato Networks
AI security inside the platform 15%

Cato: Describes discovery, prompt controls, MCP and coding-agent controls and runtime protection for users, apps and agents, with inline Block actions.

Zscaler: AI asset discovery including MCP servers, prompt classification, AI red teaming and an AI Gateway with MCP and A2A brokers.

99Tie
Deployment options 10%

Cato: Incremental adoption, four ZTNA access methods including clientless and browser, and SSE on its own; no self-hosted or sovereign option described.

Zscaler: Lists branch, cloud, SD-WAN and browser options and VPN-free private access; self-hosted or sovereign options are not described.

76Cato Networks
Total8.706.00Cato Networks

Cato Networks

Cato Networks total 8.70 / 10

Zscaler

Zscaler total 6.00 / 10

Which components does each list?

Cato Networks SASE ring: lists 8 of 8 components.8/8Cato Networks: 8 of 8
Zscaler SASE ring: lists 6 of 8 components.6/8Zscaler: 6 of 8

Filled arcs: listed on the vendor's pages. Dashed arcs: not listed on the pages we read. A filled arc does not measure how well the component works.

Components listed by each vendor
ComponentCato NetworksZscaler
SD-WANListedListed
SWGListedListed
CASBListedNot listed
ZTNAListedListed
FWaaSListedListed
DLPListedListed
RBIListedNot listed
DEMListedListed

How are they built and run?

Cato Networks

Architecture

Cato states the platform is a "purpose-built and self-optimizing global cloud with a single-pass engine, single data lake, and single policy enforcement". Its inspection engine is named the Cato Single Pass Cloud Engine (SPACE).

Source: Cato Networks homepage

Network

Cato states its private backbone, branded Cato Neural Edge, is a "cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide" with "embedded GPU-powered compute". Sites, users and clouds connect over encrypted tunnels to nearby Cato PoPs, and traffic is carried on the backbone with path selection.

Source: Cato global private backbone

Management and policy

Cato states "one policy engine, one console, single-pass inspection, on an SLA-backed global backbone". Managed service partners get "one multi-tenant console".

Source: Cato SASE platform

Zscaler

Architecture

Zscaler describes a "proxy architecture" that "enables full TLS/SSL inspection at scale", brokering one-to-one connections. Single-pass wording is not used on the pages we read.

Source: Zscaler Zero Trust Exchange

Network

Zscaler positions direct-to-app connectivity without backhauling traffic through data centers or stacks of appliances. A private backbone and a data center or PoP count are not stated on the pages we read.

Source: Zscaler SASE

Management and policy

Zscaler states a "unified, cloud native platform". A single console for networking and security is not described on the pages we read.

Source: Zscaler SASE

How do they handle vulnerabilities and compliance?

Cato Networks

Vulnerability response

Cato states it performs virtual patching through the IPS layer of SPACE, with new IPS rules deployed "without requiring any customer involvement", in four steps: assessment, development, opt-in protection in simulate mode, then global protection. It publishes a Detect to Protect log of critical CVEs; most 2026 entries read 1 or 2 days.

Source: Cato Rapid CVE Mitigation

Certifications listed

Cato's compliance page lists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on that page.

Source: Cato security, compliance and privacy

FedRAMP listed: Not listed

Zscaler

Vulnerability response

Not published

Certifications listed

Not published

FedRAMP listed: Not listed

What do they offer for AI security?

Cato Networks

AI security

Cato states its AI security covers users, applications and agents with "One AI-native engine and one console": shadow AI and coding-agent discovery, prompt controls with Monitor, Anonymize and Block actions, mapping of "agents, MCP servers and skills", and runtime blocking of prompt injection and jailbreaks. It states the engine checks "every interaction inline".

Source: Cato AI security

MCP controls named: Yes

Zscaler

AI security

Zscaler states AI Access Security can "Allow, block, or coach access" and classify prompt content. Its AI security page lists discovery of "models, agents, MCP servers, shadow AI", AI red teaming, and an AI Gateway that can "Secure agentic communications through MCP and A2A brokers".

Source: Zscaler AI security

MCP controls named: Yes

How can each be deployed?

Cato Networks

Deployment options

Cato states organizations "can adopt the Cato SASE Platform incrementally" and describes "elastic, modular capabilities". Its homepage describes ZTNA through a "ZTNA Client, Enterprise Browser, Browser Extension, and Clientless Portal" and SSE that can run apart from existing networking.

Source: Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms

Assistant in the console

Cato Copilot answers natural-language questions inside the Cato Management Application, as Cato describes it.

Source: Cato AI-powered security

Zscaler

Deployment options

Zscaler lists Zero Trust Branch, Zero Trust SD-WAN, Zero Trust Cloud and Zero Trust Browser, and access to private apps "without a VPN". Self-hosted or sovereign options are not described on the pages we read.

Source: Zscaler SASE

Assistant in the console

Not published

What does each state about itself?

Cato Networks

Analyst placement, as the vendor states it

Cato states it was named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms "for the third consecutive year", citing the report dated 28 July 2026.

Source: Cato news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms

Zscaler

Zscaler's own figure, describing the signals its policy decisions use.

Analyst placement, as the vendor states it

Zscaler's SASE page states it was "recognized as a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant reports for SASE and SSE".

Source: Zscaler SASE

Which should you choose?

Choose Cato Networks if

you value a full set of SASE components from one vendor and one engine and one policy for networking and security.

Best for: Enterprises that want networking, security and AI controls run as one cloud service with one console, and do not need FedRAMP.

Choose Zscaler if

you value AI security controls inside the platform and one engine and one policy for networking and security.

Best for: Organizations replacing VPNs and appliance firewalls with proxy-based zero trust access and AI controls.

Frequently asked questions

Which scores higher overall, Cato Networks or Zscaler?

Cato Networks scores 8.70 against 6.00 on our default weights. The weighting lab lets you change the weights.

Do Cato Networks and Zscaler list FedRAMP?

Cato Networks: not listed on the pages we read. Zscaler: not listed on the pages we read.

Do Cato Networks and Zscaler describe MCP or AI agent controls?

Cato Networks names MCP controls on its AI pages. Zscaler names MCP controls on its AI pages.

Continue reading