Skip to content
Best SASE Platforms logoBest SASE Platforms

Pairing

Fortinet vs Palo Alto Networks: which SASE platform fits your enterprise?

Short answer

On our published weights Fortinet scores 7.10 against 7.05 for Palo Alto Networks. Fortinet scores higher on converged architecture, unified management and policy, vulnerability response transparency and deployment options; Palo Alto Networks scores higher on component coverage, published compliance certifications and AI security inside the platform. They tie on global network, as the vendor states it. Network figures are stated on different bases, so compare them in each vendor's own words.

By The Transit Desk · Best SASE Platforms · Published

Desk research from each vendor's own public pages.

How do the scores compare?

Criterion scores out of 10, with the higher score per row computed from the data
CriterionFortinetPalo Alto NetworksHigher
Converged architecture 20%

Fortinet: States one operating system, client and data lake, and a single OS, policy engine and management plane across SASE and SD-WAN; single-pass is not stated.

Palo Alto Networks: Presents SASE as a family of named products with unified management; single-pass is not stated on the SASE or Prisma Access pages.

86Fortinet
Global network, as the vendor states it 15%

Fortinet: States 200+ PoPs on Fortinet-owned infrastructure plus public cloud extension; a private backbone between PoPs is not described.

Palo Alto Networks: States a 99.999% uptime SLA on a hyperscale backbone; no PoP or location count in the page text.

77Tie
Component coverage 10%

Fortinet: Lists six of the eight: DLP and remote browser isolation are not named.

Palo Alto Networks: Lists all eight components across Prisma Access, Prisma SD-WAN, Enterprise DLP, RBI and ADEM.

710Palo Alto Networks
Unified management and policy 10%

Fortinet: States unified management and consistent policy on premises and in the cloud, plus the FortiAI-Assist assistant.

Palo Alto Networks: Describes unified management and operations in Strata Cloud Manager, with Strata Copilot.

98Fortinet
Vulnerability response transparency 10%

Fortinet: Publishes a PSIRT disclosure process aligned with ISO standards, but no time-to-protect record for FortiSASE.

Palo Alto Networks: No vulnerability response record is published on the SASE pages read.

53Fortinet
Published compliance certifications 10%

Fortinet: States alignment with the ISO 27000 series and NIST 800-53; specific certifications for FortiSASE are not stated.

Palo Alto Networks: The trust center lists FedRAMP, StateRAMP, IRAP, C5, PCI DSS and SOC 2+; product coverage is not stated.

49Palo Alto Networks
AI security inside the platform 15%

Fortinet: FortiAI discovery and prompt blocking, and FortiAIGate inspection of MCP tool traffic, which is described as self-hosted.

Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security with inline blocking, plus Prisma AIRS runtime, gateway, red teaming and agent identity modules; MCP is not named.

78Palo Alto Networks
Deployment options 10%

Fortinet: Agent-based and agentless options, thin edges, native SD-WAN integrations and a sovereign option run in the customer's data centers.

Palo Alto Networks: Lists Prisma Browser and Prisma SD-WAN and flexible mobile user licensing; self-hosted or sovereign options are not described.

96Fortinet
Total7.107.05Fortinet

Fortinet

Fortinet total 7.10 / 10

Palo Alto Networks

Palo Alto Networks total 7.05 / 10

Which components does each list?

Fortinet SASE ring: lists 6 of 8 components.6/8Fortinet: 6 of 8
Palo Alto Networks SASE ring: lists 8 of 8 components.8/8Palo Alto Networks: 8 of 8

Filled arcs: listed on the vendor's pages. Dashed arcs: not listed on the pages we read. A filled arc does not measure how well the component works.

Components listed by each vendor
ComponentFortinetPalo Alto Networks
SD-WANListedListed
SWGListedListed
CASBListedListed
ZTNAListedListed
FWaaSListedListed
DLPNot listedListed
RBINot listedListed
DEMListedListed

How are they built and run?

Fortinet

Architecture

Fortinet states Unified SASE "merges FortiSASE with Fortinet Secure SD-WAN to create a single, integrated platform", "Built on a single OS, policy engine, and management plane". Single-pass wording is not used on these pages.

Source: Fortinet Unified SASE

Network

Fortinet states "a global network of 200+ PoPs. With Fortinet-owned infrastructure and native security at each location, traffic is inspected locally", with AWS, Google Cloud and Oracle Cloud integration extending coverage. A private backbone between PoPs is not described on the page.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Management and policy

Fortinet states "Unified management, end-to-end DEM, and consistent security policy enforcement" on premises and in the cloud.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Palo Alto Networks

Architecture

The SASE page names a product family: Prisma Access, Prisma Browser, Prisma SD-WAN, Remote Browser Isolation, Enterprise DLP, SaaS Security, ADEM and AI Access Security. Single-pass wording is not used on the SASE or Prisma Access pages.

Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE

Network

Palo Alto Networks states a 99.999% uptime SLA for Prisma Access on what it calls a hyperscale backbone. A PoP or location count is not given in the page text.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Management and policy

Palo Alto Networks describes "simple and unified management and operations" for Prisma Access, with Strata Cloud Manager.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

How do they handle vulnerabilities and compliance?

Fortinet

Vulnerability response

Fortinet's trust page states PSIRT disclosure aligned with ISO/IEC 30111:2019 and ISO/IEC 29147. A time-to-protect record for FortiSASE is not published on the pages we read.

Source: Fortinet trust

Certifications listed

Fortinet's trust page states security aligned with the ISO/IEC 27000 series and NIST 800-53. Specific FortiSASE certifications such as SOC 2 or FedRAMP are not stated in the trust page text we read.

Source: Fortinet trust

FedRAMP listed: Not listed

Palo Alto Networks

Vulnerability response

Not published

Certifications listed

The trust center certifications page lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS, IRAP, FedRAMP and StateRAMP, among others. Which products each covers is not stated in the text we read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center certifications

FedRAMP listed: Yes

What do they offer for AI security?

Fortinet

AI security

Fortinet states FortiAI discovers AI applications in use and "blocks unauthorized prompts". FortiAIGate checks "prompts, outputs, and agent tool calls" and catches prompt injection, jailbreaks and data leaks in MCP tool traffic; it is described as self-hosted, with data and logs on the customer's infrastructure.

Source: Fortinet FortiAIGate

MCP controls named: Yes

Palo Alto Networks

AI security

AI Access Security discovers GenAI applications, agents and marketplace plugins, classifies apps as sanctioned, tolerated or unsanctioned, and states inline data detection that blocks sensitive text and files. Prisma AIRS adds AI Gateway, AI Runtime Security, AI Red Teaming, AI Posture Management and Agent Identity Security. MCP is not named on the pages we read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks AI Access Security

MCP controls named: Not named on the pages we read

How can each be deployed?

Fortinet

Deployment options

Fortinet describes agent-based and agentless options, microbranches and thin edges, native SD-WAN integrations and a "FortiSASE Sovereign" option deployed "by end users in their own data centers".

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Assistant in the console

FortiAI-Assist, an embedded assistant that uses natural language and voice-to-text, as Fortinet describes it.

Source: Fortinet FortiAI-Assist

Palo Alto Networks

Deployment options

Palo Alto Networks lists Prisma Browser and Prisma SD-WAN, and Prisma Access lets customers exceed their purchased mobile user license for temporary emergencies. Self-hosted or sovereign options are not described on the pages we read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks Prisma Access

Assistant in the console

Strata Copilot in Strata Cloud Manager, as Palo Alto Networks describes it.

Source: Palo Alto Networks AI Access Security

What does each state about itself?

Fortinet

Fortinet counts PoPs on Fortinet-owned infrastructure and extends coverage through public clouds. This figure is on a different basis from other vendors' figures, so we do not rank it against them.

Analyst placement, as the vendor states it

Fortinet's page describes it as a Challenger in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms.

Source: Fortinet FortiSASE

Palo Alto Networks

These are Palo Alto Networks' own figures. The basis of the threat figure is not given on the page.

Analyst placement, as the vendor states it

Palo Alto Networks' SASE page states "A 4X Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for SASE Platforms". Report dates are not given in the page text.

Source: Palo Alto Networks SASE

Which should you choose?

Choose Fortinet if

you value one console and one policy and a wide choice of deployment models.

Best for: Fortinet firewall and SD-WAN estates that want SASE on the same operating system, including sovereign deployments.

Choose Palo Alto Networks if

you value a full set of SASE components from one vendor and a long list of published certifications.

Best for: Palo Alto Networks customers and regulated teams that need FedRAMP and a broad AI security portfolio.

Frequently asked questions

Which scores higher overall, Fortinet or Palo Alto Networks?

Fortinet scores 7.10 against 7.05 on our default weights. The weighting lab lets you change the weights.

Do Fortinet and Palo Alto Networks list FedRAMP?

Fortinet: not listed on the pages we read. Palo Alto Networks: Yes, per Palo Alto Networks trust center certifications.

Do Fortinet and Palo Alto Networks describe MCP or AI agent controls?

Fortinet names MCP controls on its AI pages. Palo Alto Networks does not name MCP on the pages we read.

Continue reading